Plantain flour – the gluten-free flour that is not a flour.

Delicious pancakes from plantain flour

Gluten-free flours do exist. There are flours from corn, from rice. There is teff flour, coconut flour, almond flour, oat flour, almond flour, tapioca flour. There is flour from cherry peas, from amaranth, from buckwheat … and of course from crickets (yes, the sweet insects).

One gluten-free flour that is missing from the above list is plantain flour.

Read More

Recipe: Pancakes from plantain flour (gluten-free)

Plantain flour pancakes with homemade banana ice cream and walnut puree – gluten free!

At Oak Grove, we eat gluten-free most of the time. But we also love pancakes – and pancakes are usually made from wheat flour and therefore not gluten-free. However, there are some gluten-free recipes that are just as delicious as conventional pancakes.

An excellent and gluten-free pancake recipe are these chia banana pancakes.

Read More